Border Waiver Program

Border Waiver Program

The Border Waiver is a tuition reduction program for non-resident students from certain high schools located near the border of Utah.

A Border Waiver lowers the tuition rate to 1.5 times the resident tuition rate for a year (fall and spring semesters).

Priority is given to entering freshman students, but if waivers are available, transfer students may also be considered. There are 30 awards given annually, awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. In order to be eligible, students cannot have previously been enrolled in a college or university in the state of Utah.

Eligible High Schools

Students from the following high schools are eligible to participate in the Border Waiver program:

  • West Wendover High School, Wendover, Nevada
  • Evanston High School, Evanston, Wyoming
  • Lyman High School, Lyman, Wyoming
  • Mountain View High School, Mountain View, Wyoming


After being admitted, you may apply for the border waiver by submitting a Border Waiver Request Form (PDF). Students must send an official copy of their high school transcript.

Renewing and Residency

Current recipients may reapply for an additional year or apply their time spent in Utah toward establishing Utah residency. Read the Residency requirements for more information.